A Final Farewell To An Old Friend

Last Sunday, the time finally arrived…the day that I would bid farewell to Harry Potter.  It seems like only yesterday that I read the first book and caught the widespread fever of what the world of Harry Potter had to offer.  To properly bid adieu, I saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 in 3D, which I felt was well worth the extra few bucks it cost at the theater.  I won’t give away any of the movie details, but I will say that it was an end filled with both bliss and sadness at the same time.

For me, the Harry Potter movies are films that I can watch over and over and I never tire of them.  They relax me when I’m stressed and make me feel better when I’m sick.  They have acted as a constant companion to me during the times in my life when friends have been scarce.

I knew it would be bittersweet to see the last movie, just as it was to read the last book.  In the end, I feel fortunate that JK Rowling created this extraordinary place where people can get lost…if only for a little while.  For those who haven’t embraced the Harry Potter phenomenon, I highly recommend taking a chance with it.  I promise that it will not disappoint.  It’s rare to find a book series that never gets boring, is full of surprises and constantly pulls at your heart strings all at the same time.  Books are a wonderous thing  – ink printed words listed on a blank page can evoke more human emotion than we sometimes feel in our daily lives.  As dramatic as that may sound, I honestly am amazed by literature.  I am one of those people who actually believes that the pen IS mightier than the sword. 

They say all good things must come to an end, but I have a feeling that even with the books finished and all of the movies released, the world of Harry Potter will live on.  Just as these stories have come to my rescue time and time again, I too will not let their legacy fade away.  Whether I re-read the books, watch the movies, or visit the theme park, Harry Potter will forever hold a special place in my heart.

~ by pinkhoneybee on July 22, 2011.

3 Responses to “A Final Farewell To An Old Friend”

  1. I, for one, still cant say goodbye. Still suffering from a post hp depression. Nice post btw!

  2. Me too! Maybe i should.

Leave a Reply

 
