ME-POWERED

EMPOWERMENT – this is a term that has been rapidly spinning through my mind the past few months.  I’ve been constantly asking myself…Is it a word or a feeling?  What does it mean?  How do I get it?  What do I want from it?

The dictionary defines empowerment as increasing the spiritual, political, social, or economic strength of individuals.  When I think of empowerment, I basically think of it as an open-ended achievement.  Do I think I will someday be completely empowered with no room for improvement?  Obviously not.  But recently I have had this overwhelming feeling that empowerment is something I’m looking to obtain, knowing that I will probably be spending the rest of my life searching for the right formula that will give me that ‘I DID IT’ feeling.

So what has caused my recent obsession with this concept?  In many ways, there is no straight answer to that question.  Part of me would like to say my current life situations, the age I am at, the investigative scientist in me…but then the other part of me thinks that becoming an empowered person has always been instilled inside of me.  Even if there wasn’t a term for it or a clear definition, I have always wanted to prosper in the areas that matter to me most.  Like family, my career, my intelligence and my ability to be self-sufficient.

Life is obviously a roller coaster of ups and downs.  This I have become well aware of the past few years.  It is a difficult process to try and better yourself when there is so much negativity in the world today.  All you read about, hear about and see on tv are people having to face financial problems, deal with illnesses, fight in wars, cope with loss and work till their eyes roll back in their heads just to make ends meet.  No matter what is happening in the world though, I’ve come to realize that most people struggle with something every day of their lives.  Whether it’s stress, some sort of hardship, loneliness, illness, heartbreak, etc…  And I will happily admit that I am one of those people.  Of course there are things that I battle with every day and I’m sure most of you reading this do also.  But recently, I have decided that I need to take a stand, step back, and say ‘enough is enough’ to myself.  I had to find out the hard way that letting the negative in, only allows for more negative to be created.  Which is a vicious cycle that I no longer want to be a part of.  With that said, I really had to ask myself the question though, that whatever my circumstances, am I still the person that actually believes ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE? 

Of course I am!  Which is why I’m taking on the task of empowering myself and the aspects of life that are most important to me.  Whether it be through knowledge, risk, travel or new experiences, I want to empower myself to be the person I have always wanted to be and live my days in a positive way.  Time is of the essence when it comes to life and I do not want to be one of those people who wake up one day with a list of ‘I wish I would of’s.’ 

I am under no illusion and am completely aware that this transition will not happen overnight or probably even in my lifetime, but just knowing it is a positive change within myself that I’d like to ignite, makes me feel EMPOWERED!  I’m very fortunate to have extremely intelligent and supportive people in my corner, who I know will always help facilitate this journey.  It has taken a long time for me to dig my way out and get back on track with who I am and what I want…so now that I have those puzzle pieces in place, I’m looking forward to finding out what I can actually accomplish.

I know that my new quest for empowerment will in no way send shock waves of electricity to each and every one of you and change your outlook on life.  But I do hope that in some little way it has inspired you.  Whether it is a small skip or a huge leap, any movement in the direction to a more positive sense of yourself can only bring more positive things into your life and to those lives around you.

“Most of the shadows of life are caused by standing in our own sunshine.”   

 – Ralph Waldo Emerson

~ by pinkhoneybee on March 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
