Love Makes the World Go Round

Today is Valentine’s Day.  Some love it, some hate it and some don’t give it a thought either way.  I of course am one of those starry-eyed girls who love it.  Yes, I won’t deny I’m a hopeless romantic and like to be spoiled by my loved one once in a while, but to be honest, I really have come to realize that Valentine’s Day is so much more than that. 

As a child, Valentine’s Day was a magical and fun day.  I loved it because you got to see what sort of valentines you’d receive…and then of course what was written on them.  The anticipation of finding out if the person you liked was also head over heels for you was the best feeling in the world back then.  As I got into junior high and high school, I always waited to see what little gifts I would be given and watched in delight at who was lucky enough to get flowers during study hall.  And as the college years rolled along and my independence was breaking out, I went through my phase of thinking Valentine’s Day was lame, which was a great excuse to go out and party with my girls instead.  The strange thing is that even though I have enjoyed all these different ways of celebrating Valentine’s Day over the years, I would have to say this is the time in my life that I have learned to appreciate Valentine’s Day the most. 

As an adult, the relationships you celebrate and acknowledge on Valentine’s Day are so much more meaningful.  You show your love to family, friends, your children…those people who have stood by you through thick and thin.  I don’t feel anymore like it is as much about giddy affection, but more about showing those people who you care about most that they are appreciated…that they are thought about once in a while.  Because at the end of the day, everyone wants to be loved in some way, shape or form.  Not only that, but if there is one day out of the year that you can show that love, why not take advantage of it?

No matter if you are for or against this ‘love oriented’ holiday, I say take this opportunity today to tell those who mean the most to you that you love them and that you are grateful they are part of your life.  The world would be a cold and lonely place without love, so make sure you give thanks to those people who bring it to you each and every day.

“We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant.  You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or just think it’s going to get on by itself.  You’ve got to keep watering it.  You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it.” 
                                                  – John Lennon

~ by pinkhoneybee on February 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
