You May Say I’m a Dreamer…But I’m Not the Only One

 

I think it’s strange how as we get older, the amount of unfinished business we have seems to get bigger and bigger.  At an early age, when we would look ten years into the future, it seemed like an eternity away.  As the years pass now, so does the time…VERY QUICKLY!  I don’t know about you, but there are many things that I have not yet accomplished or succeeded at, that at a young age I thought I would have conquered by now. 

I honestly do not believe this to be a sign that I’ve lost my way off the path I set out upon…I see it more as a sign of numerous twists and turns in the road that I just didn’t account for.  Because of this, one of my goals for 2011 is to try to get back on track and travel a little further down the path that I originally had set out on.

From an early age, my mother instilled in me the important concepts of sharing, giving and helping those less fortunate.  From helping to feed children in poverty stricken countries to saving the whales, we always contributed to some cause that we both cared about.  As a child, I always dreamed that I would be in a place in life someday that allowed me to donate money and time to the organizations of my choice.  (Unfortunately, time and money are two things that have not been in abundance yet on this path of mine, but I know they are still coming). 

I’ve been reflecting upon what I feel is really essential to me and my future as part of the ‘achieving my own personal goals 2011 campaign’, and I realized that it is very important to me to try and help causes I care about.  That has always been a big part of who I am and what I thought I’d be doing at this point in my life.  But I asked myself, how does someone help others when time and money are not readily available? 

I recalled seeing a television program a few months ago with someone discussing how they set up a charity online, that allowed people to go on the web, click on a button, and the amount of clicks the website received then correlated with sponsors donating to the cause.  For example, if it is a dog shelter site, you would go to the site, click on a button, and some sponsor/organization that supported the site would donate 10 pieces of kibble to a shelter.  That may sound small, but in the grand scheme of things, if everyone took the time to go online when they were surfing the web at home or at work and just do a few clicks a day, think of how many organizations/charities/people/animals that would benefit!

After doing a bit of research, I found a website that lists tons of these ‘click to donate’ charity sites.  They have sites for everything from saving animals and feeding the hungry to planting new trees and fighting cancer.  Please take a look and click on the site: http://www.thenonprofits.com/  Some of the sites have just a button you click to donate, some have trivia questions or word puzzles…but most importantly all of them help worthy causes without donating a lot of time or any money. 

I greatly urge all of you to take time out of your day, every day, and go online and click to donate to a cause you care about.  We all go online, surfing for ways to occupy our time, so why not take some of that time and turn it into something amazing?  Help starving children, plant a tree, fight breast cancer, save wolves…support whatever cause you feel passionate about.  Every little bit DOES count!

At the end of the day, we only have one chance to live this life we are living, so do something great…do something you always dreamed you would be doing…and in between those moments, try to be true to who you always wanted to be when you grew up.

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” 

– Martin Luther King Jr.

~ by pinkhoneybee on January 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
