Cold Weather Delight – Berry Strata

I’m not sure where you live, but here in Maine, Fall seems to have kicked into full gear.  The leaves are turning, the sky has grown darker and the nights are definitely colder.  The Fall season is one of my favorite times of the year, not only because of the cool weather but also because of all the yummy food you can enjoy when it’s cold out.  There is something so satisfying about having something warm to eat on a cool day. 

Earlier this month I was in search of a good cold weather delight that I could indulge in and I stumbled upon an easy recipe that looked great and didn’t require tons of ingredients I didn’t have on hand.  That in itself is quite the feat.  It is a Giada De Laurentiis recipe (I’m secretly a Giada wanna-be, plus her recipes usually don’t leave me disappointed) called Berry Strata.  It’s like a rich, warm, berry bread pudding.  You can top it with cream, ice cream, or leave it plain…whatever your preference the end result is this hot, lush dessert that warms your core on a cold day.  It’s really wonderful and super easy to make.  And best of all it’s one of those desserts that looks like you put tons of time and effort into it and in reality it only took minutes! 

Because of copyright purposes, I’ve put a link to Giada’s Berry Strata recipe below (instead of posting it on my blog).  I also want to note that I veered from her recipe a bit and instead of using all bread in the dish, I used part bread, part blueberry bread.  I think the change added more sweetness, which I was hoping for.

BERRY STRATA RECIPE (click here to view) 

I recommend giving this recipe a try if you are up for something different and looking for a warm dessert on a cold day! 

Happy Eating!

~ by pinkhoneybee on September 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
