Ghostly Adventures in Concord

Greetings everyone!  I am here to report that I survived my ghostly weekend in Concord, Massachusetts a few weeks ago.  Unfortunately, I did not make any sort of contact with the dead, unless you count my trip to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery to visit and discuss writing techniques with Hawthorne, Alcott, Emerson and Thoreau.  I was hoping they would give me some sort of shock from the beyond that would give birth to some great new writing ability…but so far I haven’t seen anything.

The ghost hunt at the Old Manse was very entertaining.  I got to walk around with an EMF meter in the dark and investigate an absolutely amazing historical home that many literary greats lived in and visited throughout history.

On top of that, I had some time with the one and only Dr. Ciaran O’Keeffe who was part of the event.  I also attended his Dining with the Dead dinner and presentation, where he was witty and charismatic as usual.  Who knew scientists could be so handsome and charming?

All in all it was a great weekend.  Concord, MA is a beautiful town…it’s exactly what you envision colonial New England to look like; tree-lined streets, old-fashioned city center, cemeteries everywhere and of course the houses were amazing. 

I would say the only downside to the whole trip was the four hour drive back home….but it was definitely worth it.  Visiting Hawthorne, Thoreau, Alcott and Emerson at Sleepy Hollow Cemetery and also getting the chance to walk through the home they all once lived in…it was purely a phenomenal experience.  Spiritual even…

                                      

~ by pinkhoneybee on September 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
