10 Things I’d Rather Be Doing…

Over the past few months, I have literally been sitting in the eye of my own personal storm.  I have numerous things I’m involved with at the moment which are very time consuming and stressful…and although I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I still need to always try and stay upbeat, energized and positive while going through this period….which is sometimes harder than it sounds.

One of the things that helps get my mind off the negative and onto the positive is to think about the future.  Where do I see myself in 30 days, next year, in 5 years?  What are some of the things that I plan to do, see, experience?  Daydreaming may sound childish, but it’s not.  It’s something that can manipulate your mood and attitude when you need a quick fix.  So as I paint walls, clean rooms, deal with work related issues, etc…I’m always trying to think of positive and happy things I could be and will be doing some day. 

Just to keep myself upbeat and on track for today, I’ve made a list of 10 Things I’d Rather Be Doing…which are not only plans for my future, but great things to daydream about when the going gets tough and I can’t seem to get going.

1. Curl up on the couch with a good book, my cats and my afghan

2. Take a trip to visit my mother in Wisconsin

3. Spend the day wandering the streets of Paris – eating, drinking and being merry

4. Write the next great American novel

5. Write more blog posts

6. A long, lovely, romantic Italian vacation

7. Experiment with new recipes…maybe even a cooking class

8. Spend the day yachting in the Med and drinking champagne

9. Getting some quality time in with friends that I haven’t seen in years

10. Painting (canvas, not rooms)

As Winston Churchill once said, “Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.” So the next time you are in need of some positive energy, try daydreaming about all the great things that lie ahead for you.  Once you can muster through all the chaos and stress, the world will be your oyster.

~ by pinkhoneybee on August 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
