Let It Grow

Summer is definitely in full force on the east coast, which not only means sunshine, but it means my garden has taken off like a rocket.  About three weeks ago, disappointment and frustration were ruling my mood because my plants just didn’t seem to be growing!  They weren’t growing, they weren’t dying…they were just sitting there.  With a little patience and TLC on my part, and Mother Nature’s great weather, no longer am I waiting for a growth spurt.  All of my vegetables and flowers are in full bloom!

This first year of gardening has really been quite the experience thus far.  Who knew you could find so much happiness in a little seed sprouting or watching your first tomato take shape?!  It has no doubt been a trial and error process, but well worth the time and effort.  The vegetables and flowers are not only bringing life to the yard, but they have also been a breath of fresh air for me. 

In the weeks to come, I’m looking forward to tasting my first tomato and enjoying a garden salad that consists only of vegetables that I grew myself.  It’s strange how having your own garden can change the way you think about food and the delicateness of the whole process.  I in no way would claim quite yet that I have a green thumb…I’m more like a green thumb in training.

I am however quite proud that I took the challenge to grow all these vegetables and flowers by seed.  What an event that has been.  It seems like it has taken forever, but it’s great to finally see and taste the rewards.  And if there was ever any doubt, let me tell you, it is a phenomenal feeling.  Even more exciting…I can finally officially call myself a Gardener!

 HAPPY GROWING EVERYONE!

~ by pinkhoneybee on July 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
