Give a HOOT for Wildlife Sanctuaries

Summer is here, and if you are anything like me, you are looking for fun things to do that are new and exciting, but don’t cost very much.  When you are itching to take a little adventure, the last places you usually think about visiting are the ones that are closest to you.  A few weeks ago, I was in search of such an outing as I described.  I wanted out of the house, didn’t want to spend much money, but was looking for something cool to check out.  What had popped in my head was a commercial I had seen for a wildlife sanctuary only about 30 miles away.  So off I went and took a chance on a little place called Birdsacre Stanwood Wildlife Sanctuary

I wasn’t really sure what to expect upon arrival, but it looked pretty interesting.  I could hear birds chirping and water rushing and was very impressed by all the plants and flowers placed on the grounds.  I ventured to the ‘sign in’ center and was pretty blown away to find out that it was just that…a place to sign in.  The entire sanctuary is free to visit and just survives on donations.  So I jotted down my name and put a donation in the giving box and headed out to explore. 

I was really impressed to find cages all over the property with different types of birds in them.  All of the birds there in captivity have been rescued and have health or physical problems which make them unable to go back and survive in the wild.  On top of all the gorgeous birds to look at, there are duck ponds with bridges and picnic areas you can use.  There are tons of nature trails, an informational boardwalk discussing the plants and foliage at the sanctuary, a Cordelia Stanwood Museum (she is the woman the sanctuary was set up in honor of) and a gift shop!  I seriously couldn’t believe how much there was that you could see and do, all for no charge. 

If you are in Maine this summer, I definitely would recommend taking a trip to the Birdsacre Stanwood Wildlife Sanctuary in Ellsworth.  There is so much there to explore and learn about.  If New England is not one of your destinations to visit, then I suggest taking a look to see what wildlife sanctuaries and zoos might be close for you to take your own adventure to.  It truly is a great way to spend the day,  get out of the house, and do something fun and memorable this summer…without spending a fortune.

~ by pinkhoneybee on June 20, 2010.

One Response to “Give a HOOT for Wildlife Sanctuaries”

  1. I have been to Birdacre Stanwood Wildlife Sanctuary many times and it is always a great visit. This is another example of Maine’s secret places.

Leave a Reply

 
