Summer Lovin’ (The Dirty Kind)

June has officially begun…the sun has been peeking out and my garden is now planted (along with about 20 different varieties of flowers and shrubs throughout the yard).  As I started my journey of gardening this year, I had no idea that in just a few short months it would balloon into a full fledge addiction!  Driving past any sort of greenhouse, my first instinct is to crank the wheel and pull over in search of another piece of planting bliss that I could fit into what little space I have left.  This obviously is not the wisest thing to do considering I probably have already bitten off more than I can chew.  With that said, my yard is blooming all over the place and I have fallen in complete and utter love with my own little personal Eden.  The smells that dance through the air cannot help but entice you to come outside and enjoy.  The colors, the shapes, the growing stages…all of it is so exciting to watch unfold.  Trying my hand at gardening has been such an amazing journey already and the season has just begun.  I highly recommend taking the gardening plunge if your time and space allows.  It really soothes the soul and makes you feel like you accomplished some enormous feat. I have no idea what sort of state I will actually be in when I have flowers to cut and vegetables to harvest, but I am sure euphoric will be a word that comes to mind!  In the meantime, get outside, get down on the ground, get dirty and fall in love this summer like I have – there’s still plenty of time to make your own Eden!

 “In all things of nature there is something of the marvelous.”            – Aristotle

~ by pinkhoneybee on June 2, 2010.

One Response to “Summer Lovin’ (The Dirty Kind)”

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one with a greenhouse addiction at this time of year. My vegetable garden is full (we still have asparagus to put in at some point…when I find a spot and dig it up), and I still have problems leaving “orphans” at greenhouses… I’m really enjoying your blog! Thank you for writing it.

Leave a Reply

 
