20 Under 20

Having lived abroad and travelled to many different countries, one trait I seemed to pick up that I still carry with me today is a passion for wine.  The colorful bottles, artistic labels, foreign names that roll off the tongue and the explosion of different tastes and textures that erupt in your mouth when drinking…what’s not to like?  I by no means claim to be a wine expert, but I do have a great respect for it.  I enjoy researching wine, tasting different wine, reading about wine…and of course owning my own vineyard is still on my bucket list. 

For Christmas I received a wine journal, which has been handy to keep track of what I like, dislike, what goes well with certain meals, etc…  The one thing that is great about wine right now is that there is such an influx of varieties popping up on the shelves, that you don’t have to buy a ridiculously expensive bottle to find something that tastes great. 

I always have people asking me what a good kind of wine would be to buy (on a budget), so I thought it’d be a fun idea to make a list of 20 of my favorite wines under $20.  So here are my picks (in no particular order).  All of them should be available at your grocery store or local wine shop and I’ve put down the average price that I have found for each.  Like I said, I’m no wine connoisseur nor will I give you a detailed description of the bottles I have selected, because I think wine taste differs for each person.  What I do hope is that you find the list useful and enjoyable…and for you non-wine lovers, give a few bottles a try and see what you think.  Maybe my one of my choices can stimulate your taste buds long enough for me to change your mind and see the beauty and experience the delight of drinking a fabulous bottle of vino.

  1. Da Vinci Chianti – ($13.99)
  2. Excelsior Cabernet Sauvignon – ($9.99)
  3. Francis Coppola Diamond Pinot Grigio – ($14.99)
  4. Hob Nob Pinot Noir – ($13.99)
  5. Cupcake Cabernet Sauvignon – ($9.99)
  6. Beaujolais Nouveau 2009 – ($9.99)
  7. Oyster Bay Marlborough Chardonnay – ($14.99)
  8. Steele Writer’s Block Syrah – ($13.99)
  9. Fireblock Old Vine Shiraz – ($17.99)
  10. Tiefenbrunner Pinot Bianco – ($14.99)
  11. Poet’s Leap Riesling – ($19.99)
  12. Cycles Gladiator Pinot Noir – ($9.99)
  13. Foggy Ridge Merlot – ($13.99)
  14. Red Flute Meritage – ($15.99)
  15. Ciao Bella Pinot Grigio – ($16.99)
  16. Las Tizas Malbec – ($14.99)
  17. Kangarilla Road Cabernet Sauvignon – ($19.99)
  18. Hay Shed Hill Shiraz – ($15.99)
  19. Yealands Sauvignon Blanc – ($13.99)
  20. Mouton-Cadet Bordeaux Rouge – ($9.99)
~ by pinkhoneybee on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
